Seven Sacraments

Christian Baptism
Baptism forgives sin and incorporates us with Christ forming us into God’s people. It is the first sacrament of initiation into the Church. Baptism makes us the dwelling place of the most Blessed Trinity and makes each of us a holy temple. The Catholic Church baptizes people of ages, from infants to adults.

It is requested that the family who has a member to be baptized be a registered family at the Church of the Immaculate Conception. The family must schedule a meeting with the pastor or Parochial Administrator prior to the baptismal date.

The Holy Eucharist

The celebration of the Eucharist is the “source and summit” for our lives as Catholic Christians. Jesus Christ instituted the Holy Eucharist at the Last Supper when he said, “This is my body… take and eat. This is my blood… take and drink.”

Adequate preparation is required on all of our parts to receive the body and blood of our Lord. Part of this preparation includes the understanding of the significance of this sacrament. The preparation begins when children are in the 2nd grade.

If you are homebound and unable to attend Mass, arrangements can be made through the Parish Office to receive Holy Communion.

The Sacrament of Reconciliation
The sacrament of Reconciliation (also known as Penance, or Penance and Reconciliation) has three elements: conversion, confession and celebration. In it we find God’s unconditional forgiveness; as a result we are called to forgive others. First Reconciliation is received in the 2nd grade.

The Sacrament of Confirmation
Confirmation completes and confirms the grace we received at Baptism. In this sacrament the confirmand receives the full outpouring of the gifts of the Holy Spirit. Confirmation is a necessary step for us to grow into full maturity in our faith. Those in the 10th grade or older are welcome to receive this sacrament.

The Sacrament of Christian Marriage
For Catholics, the Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. The marriage covenant refers to the relationship between the husband and wife, a permanent union of persons capable of knowing and loving each other and God.

Couples wishing to get married at Immaculate Conception should contact the pastor for marriage preparations one year prior to the wedding date.

The Sacrament of Holy Orders
Holy Orders is the sacrament by which men are ordained to be of service to the Church as priests, deacons, or bishops. While all of the baptized are ‘ordained’ to a life of service and commitment to Jesus Christ, the Church calls upon some of its members to serve the community in a different way through the Sacrament of ministerial priesthood. The ordained have a unique role within the Catholic community. If you feel called to serve as a priest or deacon, please contact the pastor.

The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick and Dying
The Catholic Sacrament of Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites or Extreme Unction, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness. In this sacrament the priest lays hands on the one requesting healing, prays over them in the faith of the Church, and anoints them with oil blessed by the bishop. The sacrament is celebrated with individuals upon request.

For more information on the Sacraments and Sacramentals, please visit the USCCB website.